My year on film in 115 photos: A 2019 retrospective or, my not-a-365-project

Written by and published on
Filed under , ,

What follows is my 2019 in film photography, a 365 photography project that was absolutely not a 365 project. In this article, I share the results from 115 of the sheets/rolls of film I shot in 2019. It boils down to over one hundred photographs taken by yours truly, all wrapped up in a couple of thousand words which may or may not make sense.

There are a few reasons I’m doing this:


Time and lack thereof to post my photography: I write and publish a lot of content here on EMULSIVE – ~400 articles last year – and one of the casualties of this growth has been a lack of time to get my own photography out there.

Retro-what? As some of you might know, I exhaustively document my photographic archive: film, camera, lens, EI, development notes, etc., but aside from a few quick looks back here and there, I’ve not really sat down to review, interpret or digest my own work in this manner before. I’ll tell you upfront that putting this article together has been an incredibly rewarding experience and I highly recommend you carve out a few hours to do the same yourself.

Sharing is caring: I talk a lot about knowledge sharing and transfer in our community and well, this seems to fit the bill pretty well.

Here’s how the article breaks down:

2018 was not a good year

I came into 2019 after a photographically “bad” 2018. I lost my mojo more than once and the process of taking photographs seemed void of personal meaning or progress. Much of this was due to general malaise and an almost 100% record of photographic plans falling through at the last minute throughout the year.

Generally speaking, I’m the kind of person who, if I see a particular approach not working (or not working as well as expected), will change it and come at my objective from a different angle. Repeat ad infinitum. Considering that making photographic plans was such a failure for me in 2018, for 2019, I resolved to do something different: NOTHING


Well, not literally nothing, per se – I’d obviously still be out there with a camera as usual – it was more the idea that I would go with the flow and just shoot instead of setting expectations or goals and iterating my approach to try and achieve them.

THAT was my 365 project and you know what? It worked.


If you’re reading this and don’t know what a 365 photography project is, don’t worry about it. They typically revolve around the theme of shooting a photograph every single day for a year.

Most of those In the film community are general (just shoot). Others might stick to a particular film stock or camera, specific subjects or other goals/restrictions.


It wasn’t always easy to stick to the idea of going with the flow given the amazing photography being posted on social media and my desire to try my hand at it. Still, I kept my head clear for the most part and shot what came into my viewfinder.

In total, I shot ~145 rolls of 120 and 35mm format film in 2019, along with around 40 sheets of 4×5. Of the 120 and 35mm film, I’m able to share photographs from 110 of them. Film, it seems, does not slow me down.

I’ve broken this article down into three sections: a set of photo galleries by month, some stats and final thoughts/takeaways. Each gallery has a single frame from every 120 or 35mm roll of film I shot in 2019. As my motivation for large format photography is a little different to that with smaller formats (methodical and planned vs opportunistic), I’ve dropped a sampling of my 4×5 photography under the monthly galleries.

My year in pictures

You can click/tap on the gallery images below to view them full-screen. With a gallery open, just move left or right to cycle through the images.

January 2019: 16 rolls

It was a great start to the year. I shot 16 rolls in January, with a 25/75 even split between medium format and 35mm film respectively. January also saw my first steps into wide-format 35mm photography due to a new-to-me Fuji GW690III rangefinder, which I call the TEXPan (Texas Leica + XPan, get it). Anyway, along with some further developments throughout the year, it helped take me on a little journey that’s still not quite finished.

The 16 rolls in included the following film stocks:


  • Kodak VISION3 500T (5219)
  • Lomography Berlin 400
  • Kodak Portra 160
  • Lomography Color Negative 400
  • ILFORD Pan 100
  • ILFORD FP4 PLUS
  • ILFORD HP5 PLUS
  • Santa RAE 1000
  • Fujifilm FUJICOLOR Superia X-TRA 400
  • Kodak Portra 160NC (non-perf)
  • Fujifilm NEOPAN 400.

My favourite image of the month? It’s a tie. First, is the first frame in the gallery (the mural of the Japanese chap). Second would be frame 10, which looks into someone’s home from the street. The object hanging in space is an incense holder, which was lit perfectly by the ray of light you see reflected on the window to the left of the frame.

February 2019: 4 rolls

Things got busy on the day job front in February but I was able to get out a couple of times to shoot. Three of the four rolls represented below were shot on the same outing. I was still trying to shoot 35mm film but of the three rolls I started, none got finished.

The four films this month were all medium format: Kodak AEROCHROME III Infrared Film (1443), Kodak EKTACHROME E100VS, ILFORD Delta 400 Professional and ILFORD SFX 200.

I was mostly going through the motions this month and although there are some great BW IR frames to share later this year, the AEROCHROME shot, Pads, was my favourite.

March 2019: 13 rolls

March saw me messing around with diopter filters for close-up photography (the final frame below), split diopters for freaky “infinite depth of field” experiments (not pictured) and a dive into photography with anamorphic lenses.

Stepping into the world of anamorphic photography has been a rabbit hole of both fun and frustration. Small calibration issues – like not mounting the lens perfectly – can lead to incredibly strange effects but as frustrating as they were, I learned more about making motion pictures this month than at any other point in my life.

I hope to write a bit more about my journey and use of anamorphic lenses in 2020. If I drag my heels, please give me a kick up the backside.

12 of the 13 rolls I shot were different stocks, with black and white negative film dominating. Those 12 were:


  • Fujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS
  • Fujifilm NEOPAN 400
  • Lomography Color Negative 800
  • Fujifilm Fujicolor Superia X-TRA 400, Lomography Color Negative 100
  • Ultrafine Xtreme 400
  • Bergger BRF-400
  • Bergger Pancro 400
  • Kosmo Foto Mono 100
  • Kodak Eastman Double-X (5222)
  • Kodak Pro Image 100
  • Fujifilm FUJICOLOR Pro 400H.

I had so much fun shooting this month that it’s hard to pick just one (or even three frames) as my favourites. Those that stand out? Certainly, the frame of the Buddhist monk holding a standing bell and small striker, any of the panoramic frames and bloodied butcher gloves.

You’ll probably notice focus issues with some of the wide-format frames above, especially with the 120 format shot 6th from the bottom. Focusing with anamorphics is hard if you don’t know what you’re doing (I didn’t).

Using anamorphic lenses requires a “double-focus” for most setups. In use, that translates to focusing once on the “taking lens” mounted to your camera and then fine-tuning focus on the anamorphic lens, which is mounted to the taking lens. It takes some trial and error when you’re starting from scratch, as I was. There are single focus options, which I won’t get into here. Needless to say, I don’t have one yet.

The bottom line for me is that all this tinkering and tweaking was worth it in the end and getting a 1:3 aspect ratio on 35mm film (1:2 on 120) was totally worth the hours spent in frustration.

April 2019: 0 rolls

Zero, zip, nada, zilch. April was a complete bust but I’m ok with that. I had three cameras loaded with film and finished none of them. On the bright side, I managed to get quite a bit of developing, scanning and archiving done.

Small graces.

May 2019: 18 rolls

May was fantastic, I messed around with close focus, geometric composition and some (to me), non-traditional framing for the 6×6 square format. I shot three rolls of AEROCHROME and tried my hand at the Zenit Horizon S3 Pro aka the Horizon Perfekt.

The film stocks I shot this month were CatLABS X FILM 80, ILFORD HP5 PLUS, ILFORD HP5 PLUS, Kodak EKTACHROME E100VS, Fujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS, ILFORD HP5 PLUS, Kodak AEROCHROME III Infrared Film (1443), Kodak EKTACHROME E100VS, JCH Streetpan 400, ILFORD Delta 400 Professional, ILFORD SFX 200, Kodak Portra 400, Kodak Portra 160, Kodak Portra 800 and Kodak Ektar 100.


PHEW!

Again, it’s a tough call to pick my favourite of the month. both AEROCHROME shots for different reasons, the bike leaning on the wall, about to be consumed by hard shadow and the man holding a cigarette all do it for me, but don’t hold me to that, my choices change every time I look at them all.

June 2019: 4 rolls

After May’s heady photography, I came back to Earth with a bit of a bump. I wanted to focus on nailing my anamorphic setup, which went pretty well, I think.

The four rolls were Kodak Ektar 100, CatLABS X FILM 80, Kodak EKTACHROME E100VS and Kodak T-MAX 100. and the mossy wall frame on CatLABS’ new X Film rocks my little world. The entire roll was full of some fantastically contrasty and detailed images.

July 2019: 8 rolls

Back to opportunistic photography in July, with some experiments in low-light. In fact, the fourth frame of the girl asleep on her fathers shoulder is probably my favourite image of the month.

I also took some time out to shoot the latest version of Lomography’s Lomochrome Purple against their version 1 and 2. I know I’ve still yet to publish the results. I’ll get there, promise.

Film stocks I shot this month were Lomography Purple XR 100-400 v1, v2 and 2019’s v3, ILFORD XP2 Super, Kodak Hawkeye Traffic Surveillance Black and White Film 2485, Silberra Color 100, Lomography Potsdam Kino 100 and Shanghai GP3 100.

August 2019: 11 rolls

More close-up photography this month. It was also in August that I crowned my Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D my favourite lens of the year. To say that it had been glued to my cameras by this point is an understatement (as my takeaway thoughts below demonstrate).


This month’s rolls were Lomography Color Negative 800, Fujifilm FUJICOLOR C200, Kodak Portra 400, Lomography Color Negative 800, Lomography Purple XR 100-400 v3, JCH Streetpan 400, Fujifilm NEOPAN 400, ILFORD Delta 100 Professional and Shanghai GP3 100!

frames 2 and three (girl smoking on JCH Streetpan 400 and the child eagerly awaiting ice cream are hands down my favourites of the month. The look of anticipation on the child’s face reminds me of how I’d (im)patiently do the same thing when I was around his age…well, perhaps now as well.

September 2019: 13 rolls

More messing around with the 85mm Nikkor this month, and looking back I was definitely playing with high contrast light more this month than any other time during the year.

My low-light photography from previous months was partly to blame for this and developed even further the following month. If you notice two nearly-identical shots in the gallery below, they’re from my Ricoh GR1s vs R1s which I published in October last year.

This month’s film stocks were Ultrafine Xtreme 100, ILFORD SFX 200, Kodak EKTACHROME 160T (5077), Fujifilm FUJICOLOR C200, Fujifilm FUJICOLOR C200, Fujifilm FUJICOLOR C200, Kodak Ektar 100, Fujifilm FUJICOLOR 100, Silberra U400, Lomography Color Negative 400, Lomography Color Negative 400, Kodak EKTACHROME E100G, Fujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS and Kodak T-MAX 100.

Favourite frames: the cat, the lightbulb and the two gents squatting in the street. tht last frame is a weird one as it was my first time to a) witness something happenning on such a busy thoroughfare and b) neither man knew the other. They came from separate directions, squatted and when the light went green, went their separate ways. BIZZARE.

The cat is a neighbourhood friend I’ve been slowly getting to know. She still doesn’t quite trust anyone aside from her owner/slave but we’re getting there. I love the timid/sheepish look on her face.

October 2019: 4 rolls

I continued playing around with my Horizon S3 Pro (my immense failure follows below). I also decided to try out some more low light photography, this time, focusing more on “street” with a deep purple filter and pushed Kodak Ektar and Portra 160 (shot at EI 1250 and pushed 4 stops in development).


The results were not as crazy-grainy as I expected and I love the colours: love them. I expect more of this over the coming months, especially now that I’ve acquired a more suitable lens (Nikon VR for the win!)

This month’s films were ILFORD Delta 400 Professional, Kodak Portra 160, Kodak VISION3 250D (5207) and Kodak Ektar 100. My favourites come from the pushed/filtered colour negative film. I was going for a very specific look and was surprised that I seemed to have nailed it on my first attempt. My next step will be to enhance the effect and as ever, Ill be endeavouring to do that in-camera vs in post.

November 2019: 6 rolls

That 85mm lens continued to shine and shine. I also managed to get my hands on 7artians’ 75mm f/1.25 and 28mm f/1.4 around this time and decided to have a bit of a play.

After focusing more on what some might consider more traditional street photography, I found a real connection with longer focal lengths and that particular style. I’ve never been one for wider lenses for “street” and being able to pick out detail and texture (along with people in context) has really helped change the way I see the world.

This month’s films were Fujifilm FUJICOLOR 100, ILFORD ORTHO PLUS, ILFORD ORTHO PLUS, Lomography Potsdam Kino 100 and Kodak Tri-X 400.

The first and last images in the gallery below are my hands down favourites from this month. The first frame because of the mixture of natural and artificial light hitting the face of the subject and the second frame because of the humour of it all. The stall owner was smoking while rearranging his wares, all the while dropping cigarette ash into it.

December 2019: 14 rolls

Ah…year-end! My comparison/head-to-head of Fujifilm’s new and old ACROS 100 films took up most of my headspace in December but I still managed to get out and shoot quite a lot during the first half of the month. Post-Christmas was almost a complete bust photographically but that’s ok, I was mostly frustrated about not being able to get out and play with my new toys more than anything else!

This month’s film stocks were Street Candy ATM 400, Fujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS II, Lomography Berlin 400, Fujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS, ILFORD ORTHO PLUS, Silberra Pan 200 and Fujifilm NEOPAN 400 CN.


More tough choices and although frames 2 and 3 (the women) might be the obvious choice, for me, it was the final sea/stairs frame and the shot through the room (with stools holding the doors open). The peace and tranquillity I remember feeling at both locations – for very different reasons – is what round them up as my final faves of the year.

2019’s large format film

As promised, here are a few sheets of large format film from 2019. There’s not much but I only wanted to give you a flavour is all. The five frames below were all taken with my Graflex Speed Graphic and Kodak Aero Ektar combo, aka the AEROGraphic.

Large format, to me, is almost the antitheses of my 35mm/medium format. Everything is planned to the nth degree: time, location, subject. I’ve gotten all too used to taking my gear out without a specific plan in mind for the only result to be a sore back.

To be fair, the same can be said for my LF plans in 2019, which suffered more failure than success but I shot 40-ish sheets in total (both outdoors and around my home), which for me, is enough!


And there you have it, that’s my 2019 on film. I’m not done just yet. Data about the film, cameras and lenses I shot with follow below.

Stats, stats, stats

I mentioned documenting and archiving my photographs at the top of this article. It’s not a perfect system but it works well enough for me. As a result, it means that looking back on gear, film, formats, etc., is a relatively easy task and quite useful if there’s a specific look I want to try and recreate.

I’ve put together some of that data in a format you might find useful. Click the links below to jump to a specific set:

Total rolls by format/type
Month-by-month breakdown
– Full film roll data
Breakdown by camera brand
Breakdown by film brand


Some data-based/gut-feel takeaways from 2019:

  • I still prefer using SLRs over rangefinders – I want to see through my lens.
  • I wildly dislike zone focusing – my photography typically uses shallow DoF to pick out or define subjects in busy situations.
  • It was a year of transitioning to longer focal lengths on 35mm film. No fewer than 43 rolls of film were taken on my 85mm Nikkor alone.
  • Automation is the king of my 35mm photography. By this, I mean that the majority of 2019’s 35mm film was shot on cameras with some form of drive/focus automation: Nikon F100, Nikon 6 and Nikon FM3a with motor drive.
  • Black and white film dominated my 120 and 4×5 photography. That’s not surprising considering the cost of large format colour film but surprising to me for 120 format.
  • My 35mm photography was evenly split between colour and black and white film.
  • I need to continue pushing ahead with wide-aspect photography with both 120 and 35mm film.
  • I have more cameras than I shoot (duh). I sold or gave away five cameras/systems this year but acquired four new lenses and five cameras. Rising prices will hopefully put a stop to that in 2020.

Here’s the data:

Total rolls by format/type

Honestly, I’m pretty sure I shot more BW infrared than I recorded. Two more, in fact. I may have messed up somewhere so I’m going to see if I can dig them out.

What REALLY surprised me was the amount of 120 slide film I shot. Or, the lack of it. I’ll definitely be mindful of remedying that in 2020.

Types / Formats1201354x5
BW (negative)203332
BW infrared (negative)21
Motion Picture BW (negative)1
Color (negative)734
Color (reversal)246
Color Infrared (reversal)3
Motion picture color (negative)32
317940

Month-by-month breakdown

More of a nice-to-see-in-one-place table than anything else. I had expected I’d shoot more in the summer months but my blips don’t really have much reason behind them aside from available time and opportunity.

JFMAMJJASOND
16413-184811134614

Full film roll data

This one’s a little more complicated than the others above due to the volume of data present. You can use the dropdown box to alter the number of rows shown and the search box at the top right will let you filter in realtime.

It’s my first time sharing this depth of information publicly and I feel a little naked. I’m sure I’ll get over it.

#MonthFilmEIFormatTypeCameraLens
1JanuaryKodak VISION3 500T (5219)500135Color negative (motion)Ricoh GR1sGR 28mm f/2.8
2JanuaryLomography Berlin 400800135BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
3JanuaryKodak VISION3 500T (5219)500135Color negative (motion)Ricoh GR1sGR 28mm f/2.8
4JanuaryKodak Portra 160160135Color negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.857artisans 35mm f/2
5JanuaryKodak Portra 160160135Color negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.85Voigtlander Color Skopar 21mm f/4
6JanuaryLomography Color Negative 400400135Color negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.85Voigtlander Color Skopar 21mm f/4
7JanuaryLomography Color Negative 400400135Color negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.857artisans 35mm f/2
8JanuaryILFORD Pan 100100135BW negativeContax 139QCarl Zeiss Tessar T* 45mm f/2.8
9JanuaryILFORD HP5 PLUS800120BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
10JanuaryILFORD FP4 PLUS800120BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
11JanuaryILFORD FP4 PLUS800120BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
12JanuaryILFORD HP5 PLUS800120BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
13JanuarySanta RAE 10001000135BW negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.85Voigtlander Color Skopar 21mm f/4
14JanuaryFujifilm FUJICOLOR Superia X-TRA 400800135Color negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
15JanuaryKodak Portra 160NC (non-perf)160135Color negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
16JanuaryFujifilm NEOPAN 400800135BW negativeRicoh GR1sGR 28mm f/2.8
17FebruaryKodak AEROCHROME III Infrared Film (1443)400120Color infrared reversalFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
18FebruaryKodak EKTACHROME E100VS100120Color reversalFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
19FebruaryILFORD Delta 400 Professional800120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
20FebruaryILFORD SFX 2006120BW infrared negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
21MarchFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS800120BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
22MarchFujifilm NEOPAN 400800120BW negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
23MarchLomography Color Negative 800800120Color negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
24MarchFujifilm Fujicolor Superia X-TRA 400400135Color negativeNikon FM3ANikkor 50mm f/1.2 AI-S
25MarchLomography Color Negative 100100135Color negativeCONTAX AXCarl Zeiss Sonnar T* 135mm f/2.8
26MarchUltrafine Xtreme 400400135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 AF-D
27MarchBergger BRF-400400135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
28MarchBergger Pancro 400400120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
29MarchKosmo Foto Mono 100200135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
30MarchFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS400135BW negativeNikon FM3ANikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
31MarchKodak Eastman Double-X (5222)800135BW negative (motion)Nikon FM3ANikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
32MarchKodak Pro Image 100100135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
33MarchFujifilm FUJICOLOR Pro 400H400135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
34MayKodak AEROCHROME III Infrared Film (1443)400120Color infrared reversalHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
35MayCatLABS X FILM 8080120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
36MayILFORD HP5 PLUS400120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
37MayILFORD HP5 PLUS800120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
38MayKodak EKTACHROME E100VS100120Color reversalHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
39MayFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
40MayILFORD HP5 PLUS800120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
41MayKodak AEROCHROME III Infrared Film (1443)400120Color infrared reversalHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
42MayKodak EKTACHROME E100VS100120Color reversalHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
43MayJCH Streetpan 400400135BW negativeRicoh GR1sGR 28mm f/2.8
44MayILFORD Delta 400 Professional800135BW negativeZenit Horizon S3 ProMC 28mm f/2.8 MG
45MayILFORD SFX 200200120BW infrared negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
46MayKodak Portra 400400135Color negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.85Leica Elmar 50mm f/2.8
47MayKodak Portra 400400120Color negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
48MayKodak Portra 160160120Color negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
49MayKodak Portra 160160120Color negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
50MayKodak Portra 400400120Color negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
51MayKodak Portra 800800120Color negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
52JuneKodak Ektar 100100135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
53JuneCatLABS X FILM 8050120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
54JuneKodak EKTACHROME E100VS100120Color reversalNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D + ISCO Ultra Star 2.1
55JuneKodak T-MAX 100100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
56JulyLomography Purple XR 100-400 v1400135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
57JulyLomography Purple XR 100-400 v2400135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
58JulyLomography Purple XR 100-400 v3400135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
59JulyILFORD XP2 Super200135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
60JulyKodak Hawkeye Traffic Surveillance Black and White Film 2485800135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
61JulySilberra Color 100100135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
62JulyLomography Potsdam Kino 100100135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
63JulyShanghai GP3 100100135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
64AugustLomography Color Negative 800400135Color negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.857artisans 50mm f/1.1
65AugustFujifilm FUJICOLOR C200200135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
66AugustLomography Color Negative 800800135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
67AugustKodak Portra 400400135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
68AugustLomography Color Negative 800800135Color negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
69AugustLomography Purple XR 100-400 v3400120Color negativeFuji GW690III ProfessionalEBC Fujinon 90mm f/3.5
70AugustJCH Streetpan 400400135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
71AugustFujifilm NEOPAN 400800135BW negativeNikon F100Nikon Zoom-Nikkor 35-70mm f/2.8 AF-D
72AugustILFORD Delta 100 Professional200135BW negativeNikon F100Nikon Zoom-Nikkor 35-70mm f/2.8 AF-D
73AugustShanghai GP3 100200135BW negativeOlympus XAZuiko 35mm f/2.8
74AugustUltrafine Xtreme 100100135BW negativeNikon F100Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
75SeptemberILFORD SFX 200100135BW infrared negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.85Canon Serenar 50mm f/1.5
76SeptemberKodak EKTACHROME 160T (5077)160135Color reversalNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
77SeptemberFujifilm FUJICOLOR C200200135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
78SeptemberFujifilm FUJICOLOR C200200135Color negativeRicoh GR1sGR 28mm f/2.8
79SeptemberFujifilm FUJICOLOR C200200135Color negativeRicoh R1sRicoh 30mm f/3.5 / 24mm f/8
80SeptemberKodak Ektar 100100135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
81SeptemberFujifilm FUJICOLOR 100100135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
82SeptemberSilberra U400100135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
83SeptemberLomography Color Negative 400400135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
84SeptemberLomography Color Negative 400400135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
85SeptemberKodak EKTACHROME E100G100135Color reversalNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
86SeptemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS100135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
87SeptemberKodak T-MAX 100100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
88OctoberILFORD Delta 400 Professional800135BW negativeZenit Horizon S3 ProMC 28mm f/2.8 MG
89OctoberKodak Portra 1601250135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
90OctoberKodak VISION3 250D (5207)250135Color negative (motion)Nikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
91OctoberKodak Ektar 1001250135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
92NovemberFujifilm FUJICOLOR 100100135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
93NovemberILFORD ORTHO PLUS80135BW negativeExakta VXCarl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50mm f/2.8
94NovemberILFORD ORTHO PLUS80135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
95NovemberLomography Potsdam Kino 100100135BW negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.857artisans 28mm f/1.4
96NovemberKodak Tri-X 400400135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
97DecemberStreet Candy ATM 400400135BW negativeLeica M6 TTL 0.85Voigtlander Color Skopar 21mm f/4
98DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS II100135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
99DecemberLomography Berlin 400400135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
100DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS100135BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Distagon T* 80mm f/4 CFi
101DecemberILFORD ORTHO PLUS80135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
102DecemberSilberra Pan 200100135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
103DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 400 CN400135BW negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D
104DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS II100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
105DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS II100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
106DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS II100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
107DecemberFujifilm NEOPAN 100 ACROS II100120BW negativeHasselblad 2000FCWCarl Zeiss Planar T* 80mm f/2.8 F
108DecemberLomoChrome Metropolis XR 100–400400135Color negativeNikon F6AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF
109DecemberLomoChrome Metropolis XR 100–400400135Color negativeNikon F6AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF
110December


Kodak Pro Image 100100135Color negativeNikon F6Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 AF-D

Breakdown by camera brand

If anyone’s interested, here’s my 2019 camera preference by manufacturer. I think I should just come out and admit I’m a bit of a Nikon and Hasselblad fanboy.


Camera brand# of rolls
Contax2x
Exakta1x
Fuji14x
Hasselblad25x
Leica10x
Nikon48x
Olympus1x
Ricoh6x
Zenit2x

Breakdown by film brand

And finally, my breakdown by film brand. There are a few discrepancies here, as I distinctly remember shooting more of certain brands throughout the year. Just like the black and white infrared above, I need to go digging.

Film brand# of rolls
Bergger2
CatLABS2
Fujifilm23
ILFORD19
Japan Camera Hunter2
Kodak33
Kosmo Foto1
Lomography19
Santa1
Shanghai2
Silberra3
Street Candy1
Ultrafine2

That’s it for the data. Feel free to come to your own conclusions but make sure you read mine below first.

Taking lessons from 2019 into 2020 and beyond

For someone not getting paid to press the shutter button, 145-ish rolls of film in a year is a fair bit. Still, it’s less than half the volume of typical years for me. If that comes across like a low key brag, it’s not meant to. I absolutely love making photographs and (aside from a few years back with a Ricoh GR1v) don’t spray and pray 😉

I have a deep, personal connection with photography. It’s a huge part of who I am and what I do. If I’m not taking photographs, I’m normally thinking about it.

As 2019 drew to a close, it felt like I was shooting more than I was. I felt in the thick of it, engaged and vibrant. I started thinking more about my photography throughout the year – both losses and wins – and I found that my interpretation/impression of the year gone by was almost entirely positive.

The evolution of my perception – the feeling of a frictionless photographic world – over the year was an important part of what drove me on. I accepted failure/broken plans with a Zen-like attitude. It served as a fantastic feedback loop and helped me drive energy into the next roll and the next and the next.

You hopefully noticed I called out my favourites from each month’s gallery above. Here they are in one place.