EMULSIVE June 2018: month in review

Written by and published on .

Welcome to the month that was June 2018: 30 days, 21 daily photos and 26 articles…all just in time for the end of July. There’s great timing for you…or something to that effect.

So, without further ado, here’s every single article and photograph published on EMULSIVE in June 2018, starting with the ten most popular articles as decided by you, and ordered by their publish date.


ENJOY!

~ EM

Camera review: the Rollei SL66 – by Dave Varo

Dave Varo shares his review of the very special Rollei SL66, Rollei’s only forray into medium format Single Lens Reflex cameras and something unique amongs all medium format SLRs.

Bag review: the new Billingham Hadley Small Pro part one

After using this bag for a few months, I felt it was about time I released the first part of my extended review of the new Hadley Small Pro.

EMULSVE interview #183: I am Amy Jasek and this is why I shoot film

The wonderful Amy Jasek agreed to take part in my interview series. She’s a prolific photographer and an incredibly active member of the analogue photography community. Get comfortable and settle in for a great read.

5 Frames With… Kodak T-MAX P3200 (EI3200 / 35mm / Canon EOS 1V) – by-Raymond van Mil

Raymong approached me back in May asking if I’d be interested in featuring a 5 Frames With taken on Kodak’s new T-MAX- P3200 but with a twist: every frame is a print.


Introducing the pixl-latr: democratising the digitisation of film [with exclusive creator Q&A]

After years of prototyping, testing and refining, 35mmc’s Hamish Gill finally released his pixl-latr on Kickstarter and whilst the campaign has now (successfully) ended, there’s a little Q&A I had with him, which may pique your interest.

Where are my effing pictures? Or, finding an archive system for my film photography – by Olli Thomson

Olli Thomson is back with a guest post on EMULSIVE, this time to talk about his trials and tribulations finding an archiving system for his film negatives.

Announcing: CineStill Df96 “DEVELOPER&FIX” Monobath

Another black and white monobath developer joins the fray! Available worldwide and capable of developing up to 16 rolls of film until it’s exhausted, Df96 joins a growing number of modern, accessible monobath solutions.

How-to: creating a photo book, some do’s and don’ts – by Anil Mistry

I’m so pleased to be able to share this informative article from Anily Mistry, distilling his experience of creating photo books into 12-ish deceptively simple steps.

How-to: convert a disposable camera to shoot BW infrared film – by Lucy Wainwright

The camera mod of the summer and that’s all I’ll say about that. OK: its a simple, effective mod to allow you to shoot black and white infrared film on almost any disposable or toy film camera.

I am Yan Wang Preston and this is why I shoot film

I was introduced to Yan Wang Preston’s Mother River series by Scott Hays and jumped at the chance of getting her on for an interview.

…and then there’s everything else

Share your knowledge, story or project

At the heart of EMULSIVE is the concept of helping promote the transfer of knowledge across the film photography community. You can support this goal by contributing your thoughts, work, experiences and ideas to inspire the hundreds of thousands of people who read these pages each month. Check out the submission guide here.

If you like what you're reading you can also help this personal passion project by heading on over to the EMULSIVE Patreon page and giving as little as a dollar a month. There's also print and apparel over at Society 6, currently showcasing over two dozen t-shirt designs and over a dozen unique photographs available for purchase.



More related reading

Month in review: September 2020

These are the 30 days and 33 articles that made EMULSIVE in September 2020 – it feels so long ago now. As usual, you’ll find ... Read moreMonth in review: September 2020
Month in review: August 2020

Month in review: August 2020

These are the 31 days and 34 articles that made EMULSIVE in August 2020. As usual, you’ll find a recap of all the articles published, ... Read moreMonth in review: August 2020
Month in review: July 2020

Month in review: July 2020

These are the 31 days and 33 articles that made EMULSIVE in July 2020. As usual, you’ll find a recap of all the articles published, ... Read moreMonth in review: July 2020
Cover - Month in review - 2020 June

Month in review: June 2020

These are the 30 days and 58 articles that made EMULSIVE in May 2020. As usual, you’ll find a recap of all the articles published, ... Read moreMonth in review: June 2020
Month in review - 2020 May

Month in review: May 2020

These are the 31 days and 62 articles that made EMULSIVE in May 2020. As usual, you’ll find a recap of all the articles published, ... Read moreMonth in review: May 2020

Month in review: April 2020

These are the 31 days and 62 articles that made EMULSIVE in April. I’m hoping a few of you reading this noticed that bump, it represents ... Read moreMonth in review: April 2020

EMULSIVE March 2020: month in review

These are the 31 days and 45 articles that made EMULSIVE in March 2020, starting (as always) with a list of the “top ten” as ... Read moreEMULSIVE March 2020: month in review
Month in review - 2020 February

EMULSIVE February 2020: month in review

These are the 29 days and 31 articles that made EMULSIVE in February 2020, starting (as always) with a list of the “top ten” as ... Read moreEMULSIVE February 2020: month in review
Previous

5 Frames… With ILFORD HP5 PLUS (EI 1600 / 35mm format / Leica M4) – by Paul A J Lewis

Photography: This corner of the earth – Shot on Shanghai GP3 100 at EI 200 (120 format)

Next

Join the discussion